Life was with you.

I still remember how everything started. Seeing you for the first time, was nothing extraordinary. You seemed like another human. But, I remember noticing your tired eyes and your messy hair. That hoody and that perfume. We started seeing each other every day. We started off with weird eye contacts that eventually grew into awkward smiles. One day, I asked you, “Your name?” Little did I know, that name is going to stay in my heart forever.
You were weird. I noticed how you didn’t like talking to people. I liked the times when you laughed. I used to look at you and smile. I never had an idea about what’s happening. But, I used to smile. Then, we started to know each other more. I got used to seeing you in the hallway, the lobby. You were the one who made me understand the meaning of getting butterflies. Every time, I saw you. I could feel the dance in my stomach.
I started to ask you about things I already knew. You started to help me with things for no reason at all. Something was happening, we didn’t know. For some strange reason, I felt connected to you. I don’t know if it was love at first sight, but I am pretty sure, the first time I saw you, I knew you’re going to mean something to me. And that happened. You became someone important. I started to fall for you.
The first time you held my hand and told me to come along. Oh my god, I died. I almost did. Your philosophies. Your hobbies. Your dreams. I don’t know, everything started to matter to me. Little things were no longer little. Your mood was my mood. I loved you, I swear I loved you a little too much. The day you told me, that you loved me too, was the best day of my life. Life was easier. Everything, happier. We were perfect. Nothing could break us now.
 I remember my birthday, when you planned everything so well. When you were standing outside my door, with balloons, and a cake in your hand. God, you looked so adorable. “Happy birthday!” is all you said, but your eyes, they were sparkling like never before. The first time we kissed. I remember, I forgot that there exists a world. It was just you and me, and nothing else. Damn. Your hands. The way they grabbed my shoulders, my waist.
That café where our friendship grew the most became our favourite place. You never liked coffee, but I remember you used to take a sip or two from my cup. I was never a fan of reading books. But, I made sure I always read a page or two from your favourite fictions. Sometimes three, sometimes four, sometimes the entire book.
I remember how you used to fall asleep while we used to watch a movie at your place. You used to slowly fall towards me, and then your head used to rest on my shoulder. I remember I used to not move after that.

Remember the times when we went for a drive? You took me to this beautiful lake. You told me about your childhood and your family. You even cried when you spoke about your dad and told me that you missed him badly.

The day when you wrote a poem for me. I still have the paper with me. Though the ink on it has faded away, your words are still there in my heart. 

We started to share almost everything. I used to wear your tee shirts. You used to comb my hair on days when I felt lazy. I remember how you liked my hair tied.
You became a habit. Slowly, an addiction. You were all over my life. There was nothing I could possibly imagine that wouldn’t have you in it. You were everywhere. Life was with you. I knew.
Being with you was a celebration, and I wanted it to be for my life. You meant the world to me. Every time, I looked at you, I knew I wanted to see you for the rest of my life.
The thought of losing you, would scare the hell out of me. I wanted to be with you, till the end.
But, everything doesn’t go according to the desires of your heart. Slowly, everything started to fall apart. I still wonder what happened. I remember that walk from our favourite café to my house. We didn’t utter a word. The silence was having a war with our bond and I knew that it was slowly going to die. And it did. We stopped being one. 
And today after four years, when I was passing by our favourite café, I saw you there having a cup of coffee. You looked at me and smiled. And I swear, in a moment or two, I knew, if there’s ever going to be anyone who’ll give me butterflies in my tummy, it is always going to be you.
6 Comments

Leave a Reply

